http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/prompt-tattoo/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/prompt-tattoo/

The skin

that I am in

is my own

For it is something that

I could never loan

It is the bark on my bones

the shell on my back

It is the canvas of life

for the voice that I lack

With pictures and art

the story comes alive

Of a tree that stands tall

and branches that thrive

With ink alone

I tell a tale

of a tragedy that has become one to hail

To a loved one that has passed

with initials to last

KMI is what I honor

For as someone as special as my father

on my right side it is where it lays

hanging, sitting, it only sways

It is there for all to see

but make no mistake they are only for me

The paper of my life

the heart of my soul

My body has never felt so whole

it is mine to keep

and no ones to touch

For I have never loved my skin so much

 

Tattoo Photo

 

Many people see do not see tattoos as anything but a fad or a last minute decision that they will regret for the rest of their life. Some could say that they  are pointless and just too permanent for their bodies but to me, I see my  body is the only thing that is physically “mine” and to me  a tattoo is a way of self expression and a work of art. For at least one year now, I have wanted to get a tattoo and this August I decided to get the tattoo I had in mind.  My tattoo is a tree with branches that spread out with an owl resting on a branch with the  initials for my father who passed away when I was 16. I have always thought trees as a way of life; a seed is planted in the soil with roots that hug onto the ground and then, a tree is born and life starts to grow. The life that I have lived is much like a journey of a trees where branches die and new ones are made and roots are planted in the soil. The death of my father when I was 16 years old left an impact on me that will always make me want to spread my own branches and continue my journey as I go through life. The owl on my back represents a wise animal that rests on the branches. The owl is full of wisdom and flies around the world observing life and feeling free. But no matter how far the owl travels, it always comes back to the same branch. I feel like no matter how far I travel and how much I observe, I always have a place to come back to, or a branch to rest on that I can call home.My father made the biggest impact on my life and still continues today to do so with his words of wisdom that I carry with me wherever I go. With this tattoo,   the art on my back is a story that reflects more than a permanent piece of art but rather who I am as  a person.

Leave a Reply

